By the numbers: Black Caps suffer record defeat in India in T20 decider

The Black Caps set a few unlucky marks as their T20 series against India ended on a low note.

New Zealand were hammered by opener Shubman Gill and his teammates after Indian skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and elected to bat in Ahmedabad on Thursday morning (NZ time).

The visitors then collapsed under the weight of the chase to lose the series 2-1, after going down 3-0 in the ODI series last month.

Here is a number of the main ones from the shell;


New Zealand’s third-lowest score in T20 internationals.

* ‘We can’t complain’: The Black Caps don’t want to rip off the extreme spin-friendly Indian pitch
* India thrash the Black Caps with the ball to spare for the series drop
* Black Cap captain Tullius Santner leads from there to T20 win in India

The Black Caps were in danger of setting a new record for futility when Lockie Ferguson dropped his eighth wicket with eighty days on 54.

But Daryl Mitchell’s six in the next round avoided this indignity, as he completed 60 in the bottom half twice.

New Zealand's Daryl Mitchell has been warned not to report the lowest T20 score.

Ajit Solanki/AP

New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell has been warned not to report the lowest T20 score.

The first came against Sri Lanka in Chattogram in March 2014, in the World Cup in which Kane Williamson made 42 and the rest shared 16 with the bat of Rangana Herath 5-3.

The other was only 17 months ago when the NZ second string side were bowled for the first time against Bangladesh in Mirpur, eventually losing by seven wickets.


It is the worst defeat in marginal terms between two Test playing nations in the history of T20I runs.

The previous mark was 143 runs when India once again triumphed with ridiculous ease over Ireland in Dublin in 2018. The hosts were dismissed for 70, chasing India 213-4.


New Zealand’s collection ran out when the fourth wicket fell.

India's players celebrate the wicket of New Zealand's Glenn Phillips during the third T20 international.

Ajit Solanki/AP

India’s players celebrate the wicket of New Zealand’s Glenn Phillips during the third T20 international.

The visitors conceded in just 16 balls and lost Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman and Glenn Phillips, with Allen top-scoring among the sop.


Number of overs coached by Michael Bracewell.

He took the wicket of opener Ishan Kishan with the eighth ball of the game. He was unlucky not to take the wicket of Rahul Tripathi with the next ball and conceded eight over it – and was never seen in the crease of the ball again, despite the lively NZ hauling him mercilessly around and over the outfield.


Speed ​​in kph India’s Umran Malik registered in the speed gun for a delivery in 2.1 overs.

The right-armer proved too quick for Michael Bracewell and he completed the job of demolishing the side only to let the NZ bowler go past 13 – Daryl Mitchell, who made 35 off 25 balls.


Largest margin of victory in T20 international runs.

Shubhman Gill made an unbeaten century for India against New Zealand in Ahmedabad.

Ajit Solanki/AP

Shubhman Gill made an unbeaten century for India against New Zealand in Ahmedabad.

That happened when the Czech Republic plundered 278-4 batting first against Turkey in the 2019 Continental Cup match.

Sudesh Wickramasekara’s unbeaten 104 off 36 balls (six six and eight fours) at No.5 proved a tad unsettling for the Dogs, who slumped to 5-7 before conceding 21 in 8.3 overs, including eight ducks in the innings.


The number of Black Caps players in Ahmedabad, who were also part of the NZ team, who played in a T20I equaled the lowest T20I score of only twenty months ago.

In Mirpur against Bangladesh, Blair Tickner made 3 not out from 9 balls at No 10 and conceded nine runs from his solo.

On Thursday morning (NZ time), the Central District skipper took 1-50 in three overs and made 1 of 5 balls with the bat.

Leave a Comment